Sorry to bother you all again…

I have had an Ahaaa moment… He just called me crying. I am sick with emotion but I was calm and unyielding. He is telling me that he is trapped he does not know what to do to get out of where he is right now. He wants to be a better person, he wants a life with a future and on an on. He was absolutely sincere…he was so upset he could barely talk. Three things could be going on here. 1. He is withdrawing from an opiate. 2. He is withdrawing from Suboxone. 3. He has hit rock bottom and is asking for help. The ahaaa moment is that the answer is the same to all of these scenarios.

He needs to go to rehab because he wants to get better and it is the answer to his hopelessness. He needs to not see this as a punishment but as his best tool for survival. He needs to get off ALL MEDICATIONS….including anxiety, sleeping pills or any other form of drug he takes over or under the counter. Until he sees that I don’t think things will change. His girlfriend also has problems of her own that she needs to get help with.

I pretty much told him that and he hung up on me.  I am not really sure what he wants me to do or say? When will he realize that only he has the power to change his life? When will he see by doing nothing or doing the same gets you the exact same results. He has tried it his way…when will he try it the way millions have with success. A proven program like NA. It will be his new beginning until then we all wait. I was going to say wait and watch but I am done watching…I wish the waiting was over too.

I also just need to say that I love him so much it hurts and I pray that he realizes that even when he hates what I say.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sorry to bother you all again…

  1. Dawn M. McCoy says:

    hugs.

  2. HerBigSad says:

    I think you are right when you say the answer is the same for all three scenarios. I hope he can get into some sort of rehab. Or even into a detox location with on site NA meetings. This could be his turning point. I’m praying and I’m sure others will be too. Even if he hangs up on you, keep telling him you love him, even if you are not able to help in in the exact way he would like. He knows that, deep down, but hearing it helps (or at least it helps my daughter when I have to tell her that I can’t do something she is asking….) Hugs!

  3. suboxone is an opiate..

    • madyson007 says:

      It is a partial opiate agonist, which works differently then a regular opiate. Filling the same receptors with out a “high” but withdrawing is still a part of it. I really am not interested in debating this.

  4. Lisa C says:

    Mady, I agree with “HerBigSad.” And I know that you know this, but I do want to say out loud that I’m really proud of you and your stance. If only we could love them clean…there wouldn’t be an addict out there!

    Stay strong. You and your son remain in my prayers.

  5. Renee C. says:

    I am so sorry you are going through this but you are right. NA is the answer and rehab is the answer. Maybe he is getting there since he is reaching out or maybe it is him coming down from the drugs but whatever it is I will continue to pray for him. My daughter just went to an NA convention in Pittsburg and came back refreshed. She is very involved but these reinforce her recovery and she will be 11 months clean very soon and very committed to recovery. It works. (hugs) to you.

  6. Syd says:

    I think that you are doing the best thing for him and yourself. I cannot imagine the pain of this for you. But the other things tried in the past didn’t work so perhaps he will get the message and get the help that he needs and hopefully wants.

  7. Athena says:

    You are a great mom… I think you told him what he needed to hear.

    Hugs

Leave a Reply

