He has disappeared…

He has not been home, called or texted me for over two weeks now.  I know he is not taking his medication. It is hard to feel hopeful right now.  I have not even discussed this with my husband. He just pretends everything is the same only I know something has changed.  I am not too hopeful about this. I would say relapse is a very real possibility. I do not like going to bed knowing nothing and praying I don’t get a call from a police station or worse. My oldest brother is a perfect example of a “worse case scenario”.  As you know, an addict does not understand consequences when he is in the midst of it all. Heck, when an addict is squeaky clean it is not clear to me they understand consequences. I hope he knows he can not come home if things get bad.  I will NOT RESCUE HIM this time. I think maybe I will pray that the only thing that will make sense to him is rehab. I don’t know what to do? I am fairly calm, usually bad anxiety sets in about now but I am going to wait because that is all I can do. Right?

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to He has disappeared…

  1. Syd says:

    I think that it is all that you can do. Don’t give up hope but take care of yourself. If he wants to get in touch, he will. I can only imagine how difficult this must be. Take care.

  2. Renee C. says:

    I am so sorry but you have to let him go. It is the hardest thing in the world but for your sake you must. I thank God every day my daughter wanted to go to rehab. I hope he will come to the same conclusion but until it is his decision I am not certain it will work. I am praying for you both. Although I still worry it is not all the time like before. In the beginning I was obsessed with worry still trying to fix everything. I couldnt and I still can’t. I always worry about relapse, someone or something sets her off. She will be in recovery the rest of her life. Hugs to you!

  3. Barbara says:

    I hate knowing you are going through this. Our logical minds can accept the “let go” idea, but for a mother’s heart to let go is almost impossible. So even when we let go we are still concerned, worried and emotional. Sometimes one day at a time is too much, you have to take one moment at a time. I hope you hear from him soon, please let us know when you do.

  4. tasiasmama says:

    Hi
    I have two blog concerning my past and present experiences with addiction, recovery, bi-polar and add. these are true personal writing that are helping me find out who I am and may help other addict s in the process. My blog addresses are http://www.anaddictsinnerself.blogspot.com and http://www.dailymemoirstofindingmyinnerself.wordpress.com. I am looking for other blog authors to post comments and to subscribe to their blogs. Please let me know what you think.
    Tasiasmama

Leave a Reply

