He wanted to borrow the car…

What is up with addicts… clean or sober do they have NO sense of time??? He called me just before midnight to ask me/tell me he needed to borrow his car. I have work in the morning.  I am NOT on a “up all night, sleep late” kind of schedule. So, There were several problems with this scenario:

  1. He does not have a car.
  2. His sister is now the proud owner of a VW Pssat. (actually she hates it but whatever)
  3. If his ex-car was available I could not in good conscience lend him one because as much as I want to trust him.  I am not willing to do so with a car.

I felt bad but really didn’t dwell on it much.  I said no and goodnight while he was still trying to give me 100 reasons why it was important… I hung up. I know exactly what this call would have turned into and I just really wasn’t into hearing…”You are a terrible mother who can’t even do this one thing for me blah blah blah. Amazingly after I hung up, I went to sleep. No OBSESSING! Go figure?

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to He wanted to borrow the car…

  1. gal says:

    Congratulations. You’ve come such a long way. Pat yourself on the back and enjoy the evening.
    -Gal

  2. good for you!! don’t lend anyone your car, don’t lend anyone your credit. good job. he will be ok, you are awesome

  3. Kristi says:

    I had to chuckle at the first sentence of your post:
    “What is up with addicts… clean or sober do they have
    NO sense of time???”
    Truer words have never been spoken!! My kid calls and says, hey, can we stop by and bring the baby so you can see him? Why, yes I’d love to see my grandbaby! When are you coming? to which he responds, We’re leaving right now. So they in about 40 minutes they should be parked in my driveway, right? Wrong!! Somewhere around 2 hours later they arrive. Where have you been?? I thought you were leaving when I talked to you? We did, but we had to grab something to eat and stop by the mall on the way! This seems to happen all the time…it’s like he lives in his own private Idaho sometimes!

    But I agree totally with you on the car…No way, Jose!!

  4. Syd says:

    Good for you to not lend the car. Consequences and responsibilities are a good thing.

  5. cdcb says:

    Good for you for being able to not obsess. Something I really need to master

  6. Barbara says:

    No doubt about it you did the right thing. My car keys are missing and I am freaking out…does he have them? He says he doesnt…..

  7. Good for you for not obsessing about it. God bless you and I pray that peace finds you and your family, especially J.

  8. heathersmom1 says:

    Wow! I know it was hard in the moment, but so impressive that you had the insight in the moment to know 1) what was best for you 2) what was [ultimately] best for him.
    God bless.

Leave a Reply

