It’s that time again…

the kids go back to school which is nice BUT I go back to work which is exhausting.  It is hard to be a mom of 4 and work as a teacher full-time.  My husband tries to help out but he works long hours.  I really do love my job but it is just so hard to go back after having the summer off.  It is not only school and working but all the activities that go with it. My little one starts football on Wednesday and little diva will join “something” she just hasn’t  picked it out yet probably dance or gymnastics. School in NJ starts later than most parts of the country, they don’t return until September usually right after labor day.  My life just got more complicated because our town budget didn’t pass so no more courtesy busing…only I never thought of it as a courtesy but more of a necessity. So I am of course in charge of getting my kids to school in the morning and still make it to my school in time for my first class.  It just adds more stress to my day.  I don’t think picking up from school will be as much of an issue because I am out by 3:15 and they don’t need to be picked up until 3:45.

My oldest daughter is starting her senior year and we are at the beginning of all her “last’s”.  Her last year to cheer, her last homecoming etc…  I get very teary just thinking of it.  She is my pride and joy.  Popular, athletic, Cheer Captain this year!, with a really good head on her shoulders… So the big college hunt has begun!  She thinks she wants to do something in sports medicine or physical therapy.  She knows she wants to be with in a 6-8 hour drive of NJ.  Sooooo…Rutger’s, University of Delaware, East Carolina University, James Madison University and Penn State are high on her list of colleges.

I am scared to let her go bad, bad things happened when J went away to college. Things none of us will ever recover fully from.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s that time again…

  1. beachteacher says:

    wow…didn’t know you were also a teacher….how did I miss that? I feel the same way ! I don’t know how you’ve done this….with J being the older one, and also have younger ones to keep raising. My son who is the addict is our youngest (of 3) and between teaching and all that’s gone on with him for these past 4 yr.s of his addiction…it’s about done me in. And by the way…I live in VA. and so will give a very positive shout out for JMU ! 🙂
    (it’s also where our addict son has always thought he’d go….before this all happened. He did just register for comm. college and begins this week….crossing our fingers)

  2. Syd says:

    It sounds as if your daughter has a good choice of schools. I like the idea of small liberal arts colleges. Seems to be less problems (or at least it used to be) when the student population isn’t huge. Good luck with the school year. I think that it would be hard to go back after having the summer off. Teaching is a tough job but so necessary–teachers are the heroes IMO.

  3. Have a great year! And thank you for being a teacher – what a tough job! My middle son (starting college next week) had thought about being a high school math teacher, but with all the budget cuts in Illinois they are actually laying off teachers! And its hard to find a job as a teacher here! So I think he’s changing his mind to accounting/finance. He’s my math guy. I think that would suit him better anyways.

    Tell your daughter to enjoy her senior year! What a great time in their lives. And don’t forget the senior photos – that’s what I do for a living. I’m a photographer. Its been nuts trying to get all these seniors done before school starts next week. Totally crazy at this time of year in my studio – but sooooo much fun! I love working with all the kids!

  4. I always wanted to be a math teacher. One of the reasons of course, was having the summer off. Wow, no bus transportation for your children? How can that be? What about parents who do not have transportation at all? How will their children get to school?

    Sounds like a very busy school year ahead for you. Best of luck and remember to take time to enjoy all those “lasts” with your daughter 🙂

  5. heathersmom1 says:

    Teachers need more appreciation!!! I’ve always thought it would be a hard (and rewarding) job, but I honestly never thought about doing it and also juggling your own kids… my gosh what a schedule!
    I hope your first couple days back went well 🙂 and you’re enjoying the new group of students.
    God bless.

    • madyson007 says:

      The first day of school with students is September 7th! I go back to school the last Monday in August. So I am trying to squeeze out some last minute relaxation before it all starts.

Leave a Reply

