I don’t want to talk about it…

but things are not going according to plan.  Why is every single thing attached to addiction difficult?  At some point you should just be able to take a rubber mallet and beat some sense into their heads.  Anybody have a mallet?  Would that constitute abuse?  I’m just saying…

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I don’t want to talk about it…

  1. Ron Grover says:

    BOY, if it was only that easy……………I won’t tell if you don’t tell. 😉

  2. Dawn McCoy says:

    honey, in addiction FUBAR (Fuc**d Up Beyond All Repair) is the only word that applies.

    and beating it into their heads doesn’t work. the only thing that works is detachment and letting them find their own way, their own rehabs, their own way out.

    I’m so sorry.

  3. Renee says:

    Hmmm, wonder if that is in a manual somewhere:)

  4. Cheri says:

    I must say that Ron is right, our addicts must want their recovery. They must find their own way. We can only point them in the right direction, but they have to choose to walk the path.

    Praying for you and yours. Hang in there.

    Cheri

  5. Oh man, if I had a rubber mallet, and wouldn’t get in trouble for it, I’d have beat J over the head with it about five years ago!! I understand your frustration. My biggest question has ALWAYS been “WHY?????” I still don’t get it. Never will. I guess I should give up trying, but each day I still ask myself “why?”

    Hang in there! ((((HUGS))))

  6. Syd says:

    I’m sorry.

  7. Barbara says:

    If the rubber mallet approach worked, I’d buy stock in rubber mallet and be a rich woman 🙂

    Seriously, I am sorry things are going bad. Everything sucks right now.

  8. If only our desires for them, love for them and anger made a difference. My daughter would be completely healed by now.

  9. cdcb says:

    This just stinks.
    I wish a rubber mallet would do the trick…so much easier than going through all of this. Quick, simple and cheap! 🙂
    Praying for you both,
    Carolyn

  10. adrienne says:

    Hey Mady.
    One of our Alanon members always used to say something like this… Sometimes when things seem as though they are falling apart, they are actually falling right into place.
    Sometimes our plans and God’s plan differ. Trust that things will be ok. There is always hope.
    BTW, when you were asking yourself who was reading your blog, I wrote an e-mail to send to you but looked for your e-mail address and couldn’t find one…

  11. heathersmom1 says:

    what adrienne wrote is so great – oh, I hope!
    b/c I too would like the mallet approach… I’m so sorry things are going according to plan right now, but let’s pray adrienne is right with her comment.
    Praying for you and J.
    Love & hugs!

  12. Peggy says:

    Sign me up for a rubber mallet, also. So sorry to hear about this period of “pergatory” before J can get in to treatment. You absolutely did the right thing by setting some boundaries re: (not) picking up J from the bar in the middle of nowhere. Reality check for your addict. Where you are right now, was my worst fear with Hayley – that she seemed to want help, but couldn’t get in to treatment right away. I ended up going to an addiction physician and getting a couple of RXs for my daughter, to get her through the withdrawal period until we could get her to treatment. That’s probably considered ‘cheating’ – and, this doctor was responsive because Hayley’s father is a physician (in California), and called the doctor directly for this favor. I don’t know what other people do to get themselves and their addict through this waiting period. I know and appreciate the special treatment we received. I now even keep a bottle of hydrocodone on hand, ‘just in case’ I may need it to facilitate Hayley’s transition in to rehab. I’m sure this is big time enabling. But, I was desperate to give her a shot at rehab. We’ll see if it works. Hang in there, Madyson. Thinking of you. I will put you and J into my “Prayer Box”. Peggy

Leave a Reply

