People, friends and acquaintances…

I just noticed I passed 10,000 views here at “A Mom’s Serious Blunder”.  I know there is a core group of us, that support each other and follow each others blog’s but who are the rest of the viewers?  It’s a little bit odd to think about anonymous people watching me sometimes literally spill my guts out on to a page.  I would like to ask that some of you lurker’s please come out of the closet and introduce yourselves.  I would love to hear from you! Just a short little “Hi, my first name is_______or I am from _____  or I found your blog_____etc…” or anything else you might want to say.   I just think it would be kind of interesting.

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to People, friends and acquaintances…

  1. Kristi says:

    Well, I’ve commented on your posts before, but let me introduce myself this time…Hi, I’m Kristi! I have been following several of these blogs for a few months now. I have a son that is an addict. He’s doing okay at the moment for which I am very thankful. I am very thankful that I stumbled onto this community…what a wonderful group of people!! Looking forward to continued reading and the love and support that flows from this!!

  2. Syd says:

    I wonder about the lurkers too. Do they just stumble on a blog and then leave? Comments are good to help each of us learn more and to share.

  3. Shane(a girl Shane, sometimes people wonder...) says:

    I am a lurker, from St. Louis, MO. I am not an addict, nor am I the parent of an addict, but I am involved with a man(11 years now) who is an addict. I stumbled across the blog mom vs heroin years ago while looking for a rehab facility for him, and have read addiction blogs since then, never commenting, only reading. I read to find answers and to understand…

  4. Kris B says:

    Hi Madyson; I am one of your hopefully-all-friendly lurkers. I have been following your blog and many others in this community for a good bit of time now. I am the parent of an addict and your words, the support you receive from fellow bloggers, the support you GIVE so freely to all who need it, the interchange of concern (okay…it’s love…plain and simple) between those who share our circumstances…ok I’m blathering….well it has helped me more than you will ever know. No one knows or understands the pain of the parent of an addicted child.Except of course, another parent of an addicted child. I read to learn. I read for reassurance. I read so I don’t feel so alone. Thank you for being brave enough to share with us. We need you.

  5. Helga says:

    Hi,
    I am Helga. My blog is Bristolvol-patientlywaiting and I think I have commented on your blog. I have not blogged much lately, just because not much is going on, but I try to keep up with my blog family.

  6. heathersmom1 says:

    This post made me smile 🙂 Good question!!!
    God bless.

  7. Barbara says:

    Hi, my name is Barbara 🙂

    Seriously, I wonder the same thing sometimes. I have a sitemeter on my blog that answers many of the questions like how someone found my blog, what pages they looked at, how long they stayed, what time, city, country, etc. But my favorite site meter feature is to look at what common words people used to find my blog. I have been too busy to even look lately.

  8. Sue G says:

    I am always overwhelmed when I see how many people visit my CB page and then don’t take a minute to stop and let me know they visited. And yet, I have been remiss in letting you know I have been faithfully stopping by here for every new post.

    Sometimes I think we all give so much advice and it really boils down to what you feel compelled to do…what you feel able to do…what you can live with. One minute tough love seems to be the way to go. The next minute he is just your little boy and he is hurting. So much drama. So much pain.

    I wish there were right or wrong answers for you. But I don’t think what works for one person necessarily works for another.

    So, this is all I know. He is your son. You love him. You would move heaven and earth to make his world happy and make sense again.But only so much of that is within your control. And you walk a fine line between being able to help and being able to be codependent.

    I believe that prayer works wonders. Hearts that cannot change on their own can change when God takes hold of them. Pray him up, asking God to strengthen him in ways that need strengthening. Ask God to change his heart, to remind him about the truth of who he is. Hold in your heart the picture of the boy you know and love. Anything less would be a disservices t himself and others,

    But the most important thing is to let him know you love him. You may not love his behaviour, you may not love his addictions. But you love him. And love doesn’t change.

    With a little luck and some divine intervention, perhaps HE will change, back to that sweet, brilliant little boy who faced the world with charm, willingness, courage, and hope.

    God never looked at any of his creations and determined them junk. He looked at them and only saw what they could be potentially. J has a lot of potential. And I think that scares him more that screwing up scares him. But God wants a relationship with him, and God will see to it they have one.

  9. A says:

    Hi, I’m a lurker who follows your blog and others regularly. I found these blogs through Ron Grover of Mom & Dad who had posted something of interest to me on soberrecovery.com.

    My 23 y.o. daughter is an alcoholic who is working on her sobriety. Last summer she met and dated someone she met through AA/NA meetings. Four months later he died of a heroin overdose; they found him in his room at the sober house where he was living. I watched a mother bury her 26 y.o. son, and I haven’t been the same since.

    It is a great comfort to me in knowing that I’m not alone with all these feelings you bloggers express so well. Like, how can it be that you want to save someone’s life, yet, at the same time, shake the living daylights out of them! Crazy making thoughts! It helps to know I’m not alone, but very sad to know there are so many of us out there.

    I’m learning, though, one day at a time, with the help of Alanon, literature, forums, and not least of all, you wonderful people who “spill your guts out onto a page” -lol. I pray for us all and our addicts. God bless.

  10. Renee says:

    I am a reader and commenter. Wondering where/how you and Barbara have the Blog Meter stuff? Glad we are here to support one another.

    • madyson007 says:

      I have wordpress so I am not sure about your site meter because you have blogspot? Barbara has blogspot maybe she can help you with it when things calm down. Say a prayer for Barbara she can use a few extra today.

  11. Jane says:

    Hi,my names Jane,I’m in the UK and I’ve been reading anyones blog who has a adult child who’s an addict,I’m the mother of one too.I’ve came across many that I now read everyday,also there’s some advice that has definately helped me in our journey,I think people that read blogs like yours because were on the same wave length,although most of the ones that I read are in the States does’nt matter,you all come across to me as open,honest and lovely people who just want the best for our offspring.I have’nt commented before because everyone seems to cover it all in their comments,but I do think about you all and feel that your all a little of my world too.Take care Jane

  12. Ron Grover says:

    It is intriguing to me also. My blog has over 70,000 hits. Sometimes I wonder who all these people are but then if they are reading and they are finding peace I have done more than I set out to do by writing my blog.

  13. Ron Grover says:

    ps.: what is als amazing to me is the people that do come out of the shadows. How much guts they have concerning this subject. I don’t mean to sound like I’m patting ourselves on the back but does everyone realize how brave it is for addicts and parents to live with this stigma publicly online?

    Plus it amazes me some of the people that comment are professionals in addiction and treatment.

    From all over the world people read. I have a counter on my blog that records countries. My blog has been hit from over 90 different countries!!!

    And when I began writing on The Partnership’s blog the responses on their site poured in from all walks of life.

  14. madyson007 says:

    Ron, Where did you get the counter that records countries? That must be very interesting to look at every once in awhile.

  15. madyson007 says:

    Thank you all for being brave and introducing yourselves. It is very comforting to read that most who are reading have some personal interest/experience in the world of addiction. I am so glad that anyone can relate to this blog. I felt so alone, I never dreamed there was an entire world of us out there. Kind of sad to think about…

  16. cy says:

    I started reading your blog several months ago. I have a teenage son who has started abusing drugs, mostly marijuana, and has pretty much stopped gong to school. I keep coming back to read your story and many of the other parents in this community because I want to know what the heck is going on with this world of addiction. And also because I start I to really care about the families–I want to know if the mom who got her daughter to rehab will have some success this time and whether your son will care that you are ready to give up on him sometimes.
    I think that you should know that you and all the parents and addicts who are willing to blog about their lives and feelings are doing a wonderful act of service for me and I guess to thousands of others. (ANd yes, I’ve been going to Al Anon! Thanks for teaching me about that too!)
    I feel a great deal of love for you all, even though I’ve never met you. You should know that for me, the reason I read your story is not just idle curiosity. I have learned so much and I think about the parents and their children and hope for the best for all of us.

  17. Barbara says:

    Madyson…thanks for asking for extra prayer for us. I think it helped a bit!

    As for sitemeter, its free and and can be set up easily on blogger (or any site that takes java script). Just Google sitemeter and you will find it!

  18. Kim says:

    Hi, I’m Kim from Kentucky. I have been following Ron’s and your blog for many months. I had not commented until recently, but thank you for your candid posts.

  19. Liz says:

    Hi – My name is Liz and I just found your blog a few days ago. I am from upstate NY. I am a mom of a daughter who is addicted to Herion.. MOA I guess is what I’m called now, which sucks. Anyway, I’ve started reading your blogs from the beginnning and working my way to present. I can relate to everything you say and feel thus far. I am and have gone thru all of this many, many times. All I can say right now is I take it day by day and have learned to let my daughter live her life … as an addict or as a clean and decent person… Her choice. It is HEARTWRENCHING and people think I am so strong…. but I’m really not… Appearances are deceiving. We go to work, dinner, baseball games, family functions, do housework, yardwork, chat with neighbors and smile, but we are actually a bit dead inside… and have become really good fakers.

Leave a Reply

