Just wanted to say…

I really appreciate all your comments and advice.  I know I don’t always respond but I appreciate and think about every comment that is left. When I started this blog in December I felt so alone , desperate and confused.  There are still times of desperation and confusion but I have never felt less alone and more comforted then I do now that I have discovered this blogging community.  All of you have been so kind and very wise.  Some of you have offered me your phone numbers, personal email and time!  I have found myself offering comfort and advice to others and this has also brought a certain matter of satisfaction, that I do have something to offer in this mess.  So this is a very public THANK YOU to all, for all that you do!

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Just wanted to say…

  1. Renee says:

    I have found so much comfort from this blogging community also. And even though I wish every single person that I have run across through this little community didn’t have to be a “member”, I am glad we all have each other. So, thank you for your support also!

  2. Ron Grover says:

    At times I almost feel selfish because I feel that I get so much more from everyone than I give. The process of writing and organizing my thoughts have helped to bring a measure of sanity into and insane situation.

    Please keep writing for the rest of us.

  3. Sherry says:

    It has also helped me tremendously! I’m glad we can be here for each other. I know what you mean about being able to give comfort/advice to others and how that helps us to feel like we are contributing. I continue to pray for all of us!

  4. Madison Ryan says:

    Hang in there. You’re in a tough situation. Drugs can tear hearts and families apart. If you believe this is a disease, all the more reason to seek the advice of professionals. You play a role in the lives of the addicts around you. Don’t make life too comfortable for any of them. That’s advice from a nonprofessional by the way. Take care of yourself. First. Make sure you’re OK.

  5. And thank you back! This is like a “club” no one wanted to join, but once we found ourselves here we all realized you can’t do this alone and no one understands better than someone who’s been there.

  6. @Ron – are you kidding me? 🙂 You give lots.

  7. Lisa C says:

    I was reading posts last night and my son asked me, “Doesn’t it depress you to read the sad news?” And I told him without hesitation that the support from this community is part of what has helped me survive his addiction, work on my own recovery in codependency, and go to bed at night knowing that I’m not alone.

    I find peace from every post I read, whether it is good news or another heart-wrenching relapse.

    I’ve also seen a change in myself and the tone of my posts and I’ve seen and read the same change in others. And when I’m struggling, this is the first group that I want to speak to.

    I’m very glad we found you and you found us. God gives us each other to continue to build our strengths and keep our hope alive…not just for our own addicts but for each others sons and daughters, spouses, brothers and sisters.

    And Ron, I agree with Barbara…you have been a rock for all of us…and your growth and your continued strength, even now, is something that I am modeling daily.

  8. Syd says:

    Thanks for your honesty and putting yourself out here for us to read. I don’t have any children but understand how much I have tried to control an uncontrollable situation. I am grateful to have learned that I have no control over others.

  9. HerBigSad says:

    We learn so much from each other, and it is so helpful to me to know that there are people who understand. I have a supportive extended family, but they often do not quite understand the whole disease process, problems with enabling, etc. I am glad you write here and I hope you continue!

  10. Renee C. says:

    Knowledge is growth!

Leave a Reply

