A miracle for some…

There is a  fairly new medication available that works particularly well for an opiate addiction. It’s called suboxone.  You can google it to get very specific information. I think that it might be a part of the answer (along with therapy) to my son’s addiction.  My husband on the other hand is not sold on the idea at all.  It is quite a polarizing  subject in the addiction community.  It seems to either be a ‘Miracle Drug” for some or an “Evil New Drug”  that doctors and pharmaceuticals are making money off of.  There are also quite a few people who see it in more shades of grey than that but I think you get the picture. 

A mom whose son is battling addiction was kind enough to post a comment under “The life he chose or did he”?   You can see how she feels it has changed her son’s life and their own live’s too.   I want so badly for this to help my son.  He has taken it before and says it gives such a sense of normal with no cravings.  A doctor once tried to explain to me what a craving is like : “A craving is like when you have poison ivy and everyone tells you… Under NO circumstances are you allowed to scratch that excruciating itch, so you suck up and work hard not to think about that itch until one day you can not take it any longer you have to scratch”.  Think about that. Think how difficult and irritating it must be to keep from scratching 24/7 and still get on with your life…work, school and other everyday stresses.  Well I guess Suboxone takes away that itch.

There is no “high” or pay off to this drug, it just keeps you from wanting to scratch that itch.  BUT there are cons to this drug too.  The biggest one being, it is highly addicting and very difficult to get off of.  So, in my husbands mind he is just trading one addiction for another.  I disagree.  If my child had diabetes and needed insulin everyday to keep him healthy, I would of course be grateful that drug is available.  Do you remember in a another post I talked about how my children have hit the “genetic addiction lottery”?  (One day I will write in detail what I meant by that, but the gist is there is serious addiction on both my husbands and my side of the family).  If this is not a choice but a serious illness why would we want to deprive him of treatment?

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A miracle for some…

  1. chrse33 says:

    Hi Madyson007.

    Thank you for reading my blog. As this made me interested in reading yours. I find that addiction is hard to overcome in any form it comes in. I’m a nurse and was also once heavily abusing both alcohol and drugs. It was numbing the pain. I also have a very OCD and addictive behavior. But through God’s good grace, I overcame it. Although when I drink there are times I still can’t tell when I’ve had enough. I know too that when you hear other people overcoming hardships, you feel hopeful and yet feel a sense of resentment at times that it’s not working for you. Please have faith and strength & know that I am wishing great things for you. As a nurse, I also know that it is painful to watch the destruction addiction takes mentally, emotionally, and physically. I hope you are also getting help.

  2. Becky Smith says:

    I am so sorry what you guys are facing with your son’s addiction. We have a very dear friend who is a pastor; his 27 year old son has been in and out of rehab and jail over and over and over again. The heartache this causes parents is indescribable.

    You are to be commended for publicly writing about your experiences; I know you must bring a lot of comfort to parents facing similar things who feel so alone.

    Blessings,
    Becky

Leave a Reply

