I did something very wrong…

My son can not see past his own wants, needs and desires.  The other day he was taking laundry out of the dryer trying to choose something to wear.  My little ones were carrying heavy grocery bags in through the laundry room and he was blocking the door with the dryer open.   My “middle bit” said “please move away this bag is heavy” , she needed to get in.  His response was wait “middle sis” I am doing something .  He then kind of went through the laundry picking out clothes from the dryer while she waited with her arms full.  Another day he was asked to move his car because his dad wanted to plow the driveway.  His dad was out in the snow waiting and he said “I am going to take a shower first.”  I was so freaked out that he could not see how very selfish and ridiculous his answer was.  It did not matter how I tried to explain that his actions were selfish and wrong, he was absolutely unable to see it.  To him he needed a shower and we should all wait or he needed clothes and his sister should wait or we need him to talk to him now but he is playing a video game.  Everything runs on his schedule of wants and needs.  Is this a symptom of what addiction can leave you with?  Is it just that he is unwilling to see anything from someone elses perspective?  I am at a loss?

About madyson007

I am a mom of 4 who thought she was home free with her oldest son when he went off to college. My serious blunder? Genetics and being naive or maybe just plain stupid.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

